Forex Broker Guide 2026: Regulation, Fees and Leverage Compared

Updated September 2026. Broker details were checked on each broker’s official website on 23 September 2026. Conditions change often and differ by country and by the legal entity you open an account with — always confirm on the broker’s site and the regulator’s register before depositing.

Key points

  • Which entity you sign up with matters more than the brand. Most large brokers run a strictly regulated company (UK, EU, Australia, US) and an offshore one with far higher leverage and far fewer protections.
  • Retail leverage is capped at 30:1 on major pairs in the UK, EU and Australia, 50:1 in the US, 25:1 in Japan and 20:1 in Singapore. Offers of 500:1–2000:1 mean an offshore entity.
  • Bonuses are banned for retail clients in the UK, EU and Australia, where negative balance protection is also mandatory.
  • Check the register yourself — clone firms copy real brokers’ names and licence numbers.

Broker snapshot: strongly regulated retail entities

These brokers have at least one company authorised to serve retail clients under a major regulator. Costs are shown exactly as each broker publishes them; “from” prices are minimums, not typical spreads. Round turn (RT) = open and close one standard lot (100,000 units).

Broker Main regulators Min. deposit Max. retail leverage Platforms EUR/USD cost (published) Copy trading US clients Score
eToro
Nasdaq: ETOR
FCA, CySEC, ASIC, ADGM, MAS · Offshore: Seychelles From $50 (varies by country) 30:1 Own platform only Spread 0.005% per trade Yes (CopyTrader) Stocks & crypto only — no FX/CFDs 88Regulation 50/50 · Cost 30/30 · Platforms 8/20
FOREX.com
StoneX group
NFA/CFTC, FCA, CySEC, CIRO, ASIC, JFSA, MAS · Offshore: CIMA $100 (US) 50:1 US; 30:1 UK/EU Own, MT4, MT5, TradingView Standard from 0.8 pips; RAW 0.0 + $7 per side No Yes 79Regulation 50/50 · Cost 17/30 · Platforms 12/20
OANDA
owned by FTMO since Dec 2025
NFA/CFTC, FCA, KNF, CIRO, ASIC, MAS, JFSA · Offshore: BVI None 50:1 US; 30:1 UK Own, MT4, MT5, TradingView US spread-only 1.4 pips; core pricing raw + $7 per side No Yes 76Regulation 45/50 · Cost 17/30 · Platforms 14/20
FxPro FCA, CySEC, FSCA · Offshore: Bahamas, Seychelles No fixed minimum 30:1 UK/EU MT4, MT5, cTrader, own Raw+ from 0.0 + $7 RT Via cTrader No 74Regulation 27/50 · Cost 30/30 · Platforms 17/20
Tickmill FCA, CySEC, FSCA, DFSA (rep. office) · Offshore: Seychelles $100 30:1 UK/EU MT4, MT5, TradingView Raw: average 0.1 pips + $6 RT Yes No 74Regulation 27/50 · Cost 30/30 · Platforms 17/20
easyMarkets
formerly easy-forex
CySEC, ASIC, FSCA · Offshore: Seychelles, BVI $25 (EU) 30:1 EU Own, TradingView, MT4, MT5 Fixed 0.6 pips (web/app, EU) No No 71Regulation 27/50 · Cost 30/30 · Platforms 14/20
Dukascopy FINMA (Swiss bank), Latvijas Banka (EU) $100 30:1 EU; up to 200:1 Swiss bank JForex, MT4, MT5 ECN from 0.1 pip + $35 per $1m per side (≈$7 RT) No (PAMM) Not stated 69Regulation 32/50 · Cost 26/30 · Platforms 11/20
FXCM
now Stratos Group
FCA, CySEC, ASIC, FSCA · Offshore: SVG From 50 (account currency) 30:1 UK/EU/AU Trading Station, MT4, TradingView Standard: average 1.3 pips No No (left US 2017) 69Regulation 41/50 · Cost 17/30 · Platforms 11/20
AvaTrade Central Bank of Ireland, ASIC, JFSA, FSCA · Offshore: BVI $100 30:1 EU/AU MT4, MT5, own app From 0.9 pips, no commission Yes (AvaSocial, DupliTrade) No 60Regulation 36/50 · Cost 10/30 · Platforms 14/20
LiteFinance
formerly LiteForex
CySEC (EU entity) · Offshore: Mauritius, SVG $50 30:1 EU (expected; not stated) MT4, MT5, cTrader Classic from 1.8 pips; ECN raw + commission Yes No 45Regulation 18/50 · Cost 10/30 · Platforms 17/20
HFM
formerly HotForex
FCA, FSCA, DFSA, CMA Kenya; CySEC (professional clients only) · Offshore: Mauritius, Seychelles $0 (Premium) 30:1 UK MT4, MT5, HFM app Zero account: raw spread + commission from $3 per lot Yes (HFcopy) No 42Regulation 18/50 · Cost 10/30 · Platforms 14/20
InstaForex CySEC (EU entity) · Offshore: BVI, SVG €200 (EU ECN) 30:1 EU (expected; not stated) MT4, MT5 EU ECN: raw + $3.50 per $100k Yes (ForexCopy) No 40Regulation 18/50 · Cost 10/30 · Platforms 12/20
FXCC CySEC · Offshore: Comoros (MISA), Vanuatu, SVG €100 (EU) 30:1 EU MT4, MT5 ECN XL from 0.0 pips, no commission Yes (FXCC Copy) No 39Regulation 18/50 · Cost 10/30 · Platforms 11/20
How the score works

A 0–100 score combining three things we can check from public sources. It is our editorial summary, not a recommendation, and it depends on which company you are onboarded to.

  • Regulation & protection (50): 9 points per top-tier regulator authorising the broker to serve retail clients (FCA, EU national regulators, ASIC, NFA/CFTC, FINMA, JFSA, MAS, CIRO, KNF), up to 36; 9 points if clients can be covered by a compensation scheme; 5 points for a bank licence or a stock-exchange-listed owner. Offshore-only licences score 0.
  • Published EUR/USD cost (30): all-in cost in pips (spread + commission; $10 per lot ≈ 1 pip), using the broker’s typical, average or fixed figure, or the minimum all-in cost of its commission account. 0.7 pips or less: 30 · up to 0.9: 26 · up to 1.1: 22 · up to 1.4: 17 · up to 1.8: 10. Brokers that publish only “from” spreads receive a neutral 10.
  • Platforms & tools (20): 3 points each for MT4, MT5, TradingView, cTrader, an own platform and copy trading; 2 for a swap-free account.

Scores use the data checked on 23 September 2026. Hover over (or tap) a score to see its breakdown.

Brokers serving retail clients only through offshore entities

These brands currently accept retail clients only via lightly regulated or offshore companies. That usually means very high leverage, no compensation scheme and limited ways to complain if something goes wrong.

Broker Licences Min. deposit Max. leverage Platforms EUR/USD cost (published) Notes Score
Exness Seychelles, BVI, Mauritius, Curaçao, FSCA; its CySEC and FCA entities serve professional clients only About $10 (Standard) Very high, conditional MT4, MT5, own Standard from 0.2 pips; Raw 0.0 + $7 RT Social trading available 44Regulation 0/50 · Cost 30/30 · Platforms 14/20
FXTM FSCA, CMA Kenya, CMA UAE, FSC Mauritius $30 (Micro) Very high (offshore) MT4, MT5, own app Advantage from 0.0 + $7 RT UK business closed 2026; EU licence withdrawn 2024. Swap rates tracked monthly 41Regulation 0/50 · Cost 30/30 · Platforms 11/20
FXDD Peru registration $200 Up to 500:1 MT4, MT5 Ultra from 0.0 + $4.98 RT Surrendered its Malta (EU) licence in August 2026 39Regulation 0/50 · Cost 30/30 · Platforms 9/20
Alpari Comoros (MISA) $100 Standard Up to 1000:1 (3000:1 ECN) MT4, MT5, own app Standard from 1.2 pips Alpari UK went insolvent in 2015 (Swiss franc shock) 21Regulation 0/50 · Cost 10/30 · Platforms 11/20
AAAFx Comoros, FSCA; Greek (HCMC) entity now described as payment services Varies by account Up to 500:1 MT4, MT5 ECN from 0.0 + commission Copy trading via ZuluTrade 21Regulation 0/50 · Cost 10/30 · Platforms 11/20

No longer operating: CitiFX Pro (Citi’s retail FX service) closed in June 2015; its clients were transferred to FXCM and Saxo Bank.

Overnight financing costs

Spreads are only part of the cost. If you hold positions overnight, the swap (rollover) spread — the gap between the long and short swap rates — is a real, recurring fee. The chart below uses the swap rates this site collects every month.

Overnight financing cost by brokerSwap spread on major pairs — the yearly cost of holding a position once long and short interest net out (lower is cheaper). Live data from 23 Sep 2026, refreshed monthly. All swap rates →
FXTMTickmill
0%1%2%3%EUR/USDGBP/USDUSD/JPYAUD/USDUSD/CHFUSD/CADNZD/USDEUR/GBPEUR/JPYGBP/JPY

Regulation by country

Brokers are regulated where each of their companies is licensed, not where the brand is headquartered. The rules below apply to retail clients; “professional” clients can lose most of these protections.

Region Regulator Max. leverage (major FX) Negative balance protection Bonuses Compensation if the firm fails Check a firm
United Kingdom FCA 30:1 Required Banned FSCS, up to £85,000 FCA Register
European Union National regulators under ESMA rules, e.g. CySEC (Cyprus), BaFin (Germany) 30:1 Required Banned National schemes, typically 90% of the claim up to €20,000 CySEC, BaFin
Australia ASIC 30:1 (current order runs to May 2027; under review) Required Banned No scheme for CFD trading ASIC registers
United States CFTC and NFA 50:1 (20:1 other pairs) None (SIPC does not cover forex) NFA BASIC
Canada CIRO (formerly IIROC) Set by currency group (about 50:1 on majors) CIPF, up to C$1m per account category CIRO dealers
Japan JFSA 25:1 Loss-cut rules; client margin held in trust Trust segregation rather than a fund JFSA list
Singapore MAS 20:1 MAS directory
Switzerland FINMA Set by the firm Bank deposits up to CHF 100,000 (not trading positions) FINMA list
South Africa FSCA No statutory cap None FSCA search

“—” means the rule is not part of that regulator’s retail leverage framework or could not be confirmed from an official source. Russia’s former regulator, the FFMS, was abolished in 2013; forex dealers there are licensed by the Bank of Russia.

Offshore jurisdictions

Licences from St Vincent & the Grenadines, Comoros (Mwali), Seychelles, Mauritius, Vanuatu, the British Virgin Islands and the Bahamas are common among brokers offering very high leverage. They generally lack leverage caps, mandatory negative balance protection, loss-percentage disclosure, compensation schemes and an independent ombudsman. St Vincent & the Grenadines states that it does not license or regulate forex trading at all — a company registered there is not a regulated broker.

What’s changing

  • Australia: ASIC’s CFD product-intervention order expires in May 2027; a consultation on amending and extending it is due in late 2026.
  • United Kingdom: the FCA is consulting on how firms classify clients as “professional”, after warning in 2025 that some CFD firms push retail clients to opt up or move to offshore entities.
  • European Union: ESMA reminded firms in February 2026 that crypto “perpetual futures” are likely to fall under the CFD rules.

How to check a broker

  1. Find the legal entity named in the account agreement and on the sign-up page — not just the brand.
  2. Look it up on the regulator’s own register (links above) and use only the website and phone number listed there.
  3. Search the warning lists: the FCA Warning List and IOSCO I-SCAN, which collects alerts from 150+ regulators. Watch for clone firms.
  4. Read the risk warning. In the UK, EU and Australia brokers must show what percentage of their retail accounts lose money — in the FCA’s research, around 80% of clients lose money.
  5. Be wary of bonuses, 500:1+ leverage, pressure to become a “professional” client, and requests to deposit by crypto or to a personal account.

Trade execution models

  • Market maker (B-book, “dealing desk”): the broker takes the other side of your trade and profits when clients lose — a built-in conflict of interest that regulators require firms to manage.
  • STP / agency (A-book): orders are passed to one or more liquidity providers; the broker earns from spread mark-ups and commission.
  • ECN: an A-book model where you see competing quotes from several liquidity providers, usually with raw spreads plus commission.
  • Hybrid: a common model today — the broker keeps some client flow in-house (often small or unprofitable accounts) and hedges the rest.

Account labels such as “ECN” or “Raw” describe pricing, not necessarily how your orders are handled. The execution policy document tells you more.

Fee types

Spread: the difference between the buy and sell price. Brokers publish “from” (minimum) spreads far more often than typical ones; spreads widen around news and at the daily rollover.

Commission: charged on raw/ECN accounts, quoted either per side or per round turn — $3.50 per side is $7 round turn. Compare accounts on total cost: spread + commission.

Swap (rollover): interest paid or earned for holding positions overnight, usually tripled on Wednesdays to cover the weekend. See our live swap rates.

Swap-free (Islamic) accounts: widely available, but usually with wider spreads, admin fees after a number of days, or both.

Other charges: inactivity fees, currency conversion on deposits and withdrawals, and withdrawal fees on some payment methods.

This page is for education only and is not a recommendation of any broker. Links go directly to each broker’s official website. Suggest a broker or report an error via our contact page.

Leave a reply